Jill- How could I not love running??? (Insert happy face here)

This morning I was at a coffee shop doing some work and decided to take a moment and write a blog post. Well I did and I didn’t post it as my internet time ran out. Then I got busy with work. It was actually a day FULL of emails! At about 4:45pm I decided to run the sea wall here in Vancouver. Am I ever glad I did!

How could I not love running when I got to see this?!

Image

The sun was setting over the inlet on the Pacific Ocean. Oh how I miss the ocean. It has this instant calming effect over me. I stopped a few times to take photos. There were so many people out enjoying the beautiful weather and the beautiful sights. I realized that running for me isn’t just about a goal of running a half marathon anymore. It is a journey that is taking me outside and allowing me to experience things that I would never have experienced if it weren’t for my determination and drive.

There have been a few times when I really had to convince myself that I should go for a run rather than sit in my hotel room or on my sofa and watch tv or work on wedding planning (now that’s a entirely different blog!) but not once have I been dissappointed with the outcome…not even one time. The sore knees and hips are worth it!

 

Now if you care to read on it is the more boring version of this post…the happy and determined yet somewhat uninspired version from this morning! Can this really just keep getting better? I guess I should knock on wood. I have a friend who is training for a marathon right now and she has shared some less than smiley stories of running poops and injured feet and knees. I count my lucky stars as I ice my throbbing knees and all the while I smile.

From this morning….

After I wrote last week about my goals for the upcoming week, I left them on my blog and didn’t look at them again so I am a little behind but surprisingly not by much!

Today

Friday

Saturday

Sunday

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

7.5 km Hills

Off

15km Mixed terrain

Ball Hockey aka: sprints/cross train

Speed Trials

Off

10km Sea Wall Run

Cross Train (Hotel gym)

Off

Actual

           

Proposed

Proposed

5 km Hills

Off

13 km mixed terrain and stairs

Ball hockey

off

off

14km sea wall run

Cross train

Cross train

                 

 

On Saturday I ventured out for a long run by myself for the first time ever! I strapped on my camel pack and my mp3 player and hit the trails. I loved it! I ran 13km in 1h 20mins! I stopped to walk for 60 secs in the middle but that is it. I incorporated extra stairs to feel the burn. When I got back home I was a little sad…I wanted to keep going but I had an appointment to keep so I had to stop.

I have been doing really well with my eating lately, even though I have been eating out quite a bit because I am travelling with work, I have friends in town etc. I feel like I am making better choices and keeping my portions in control. The best part is that I am not depriving myself of anything. I allow myself to indulge but just a little so I don’t feel gross or like a failure afterward.

So I was hovering between 146-148lbs for the past month or so but all this week I have been a solid 145lbs! I am back on the right track. To be honest I am feeling smaller and tougher/stronger than I was the first time I reached 145lbs in October! I am no longer concentrating on the weight; I am more so concentrating on the ½ marathon training and getting stronger.

I now understand why people run for fitness. I haven’t worked on my core very much in the past month but my abs feel like I have worked them hard the day after I run. I also feel like my arms and shoulders are stronger and they look more lean then usual. I can declare proudly…. I LOVE RUNNING!!! I find it relaxing and fun! I have time to think and I am now part of a culture that I never thought I would be…that culture being the fit looking people running/biking/walking in the river valley in Edmonton. And now I get to be a part of that culture in beautiful Vancouver as I am going running on the sea wall today!

I am loving life right now and I am excited to see where this movement inside of me goes!